A Matter of Perspective

I declare that
I never lose.
I only learn.

I learn
to own my learning,
my thinking and being.
With mindfulness
I challenge blithe
till I fall into its trap no more.

I learn
to observe the whirlwind
inside me – quietly, patiently.
As it tears me apart, I
gather the meaningful pieces
to shape again a better me.

I learn
to feel lost without hopelessness
amidst the maze
of chaos and stress
to feel motivation from
within me, leading the way.

I learn
to think about thinking
to think about dreaming
for dreams can never be
too big, too crazy, or
impossible.

I learn
to taste the bitterness of failure
to taste the sweetness of success
both so distinct
yet cease to exist
without the other.

I learn
to unlearn my confined beliefs
to relearn my past – myself
for I am tearing down
this smokescreen
of ego and fear.

I learn
to see through different lenses
to see what failure
can offer me
lest to failure
I lose my senses.

I learn
to accept defeat, but also
to wonder, to question,
to anticipate, to seek change, and
to reflect – so to realise
my ultimate goal.

I learn
that always will there be
an ultimate goal after
my ultimate goal
for there is no limit
to what I am able to achieve.

Success is my goal
in this journey of learning
that has no end.
Success – a daily celebration too
for every day of learning
is a success worth celebrating.

Win or lose?
Or learn?
‘Tis a matter of perspective.

Photo by Josie Anderton (CC BY 2.0)
About the post

My works

6 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I agree. Amazing poetry.
    “Win or lose?
    Or learn?
    ‘Tis a matter of perspective.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on johncoyote and commented:
    Strong words and good logic. Please read the amazing words by a talented writer.

    Like

  3. jensenempire2551 July 6, 2015 — 6:59 pm

    A matter of perspective! Always catches me off guard…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautiful poem..so honest! Love it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

