Magic in a mirror

Once upon a time,
I taught myself
to love everyone, because that’s
how the world should be – everyone loves everyone.
Or so I thought.

Once upon a time,
I taught myself
to love only those who loved me,
so that I wouldn’t run out of love
like I did once upon a time.

Once upon a time,
I taught myself
to stop loving everyone, because
no one could ever give me the love I needed.
Or so I thought.

Once upon a time,
I taught myself
to look into the mirror and say, “I love you.”
I started to love everyone again
like I did once upon a time.

Photo by Brett Neilson (CC BY 2.0)
2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Love begins with self.
    Beautiful as usual. Thanks for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful photo and poem.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

