Grief Addict

Prompt: Fog
Form: Elegy
Device: Metaphor

If I apologise now for my faults,
can you hear me?
If I call your name and say I miss you,
will you come back to me?

In memories I willingly drown, my mind
caged by mourning mists.
I still see you, hear your voice in the midst of this worldly blur.
You’re everywhere – yet not here with me.

The shadow you left behind shrouds me in.
I’m cocooned in guilt and regret.
Cleverly, my wistful tears I hide beneath my blanket,
grief camouflaged with laughter and smiles.

Tonight, you finally return to me
in my dream,
only to cry, “Live with this addiction no more!”
Seems like I wasn’t so clever after all.

Featured image: Photo by mendhak (CC BY-SA 2.0)
8 Comments

Add yours →

  1. This is very moving and beautiful.
    /In memories I willingly drown / My mind caged by mourning mists. That is simply lovely, and I like the use of the word mourning, so similar to morning.
    You even manage a wry throw-away remark in the wrap-up line, releasing the reader from your pain.
    Thank you for sharing this.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely it flow reader till the end. Well done

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is beautiful and it has such a longing tone! I like it a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You have wonderful photographs with each of your poems. the poems are good too. I like this image – ‘mind caged by mourning mists’ – a great way to describe the effect of loss

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

